Haydn String Quartet Series

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone? Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

History records Haydn as the ‘father of the string quartet’, a title reinforced by the test of time. Wigmore Hall’s Haydn String Quartet Series, performed by an irresistible line-up of world-class ensembles, spans the full range of the composer’s invention, from the early Op. 20 compositions to his late masterworks of the 1790s.

This series is made possible with additional support from the Haydn String Quartet Circle and the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund

Doric String Quartet © George Garnier

Doric String Quartet

Thursday 22 February 2018 7:30PM

Haydn

Doric String Quartet © George Garnier

Doric String Quartet

Wednesday 28 February 2018 7:30PM

Haydn

Heath Quartet © Simon Way

Heath Quartet; Nils Mönkemeyer viola

Wednesday 14 March 2018 7:30PM

Haydn, Jörg Widmann and Bruckner

Danish String Quartet © Caroline Bittencourt

Danish String Quartet

Thursday 15 March 2018 7:30PM

Haydn, Mozart and Brahms

Kuss Quartet © Molina Visuals

Kuss Quartet

Friday 16 March 2018 7:30PM

Haydn

Castalian String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Castalian String Quartet

Tuesday 17 April 2018 7:30PM

Haydn

Vertavo String Quartet

Vertavo String Quartet

Wednesday 25 April 2018 7:30PM

Haydn

Sacconi Quartet © Emilie Bailey

Sacconi Quartet

Tuesday 8 May 2018 7:30PM

Jonathan Dove, Haydn and Janácek

Doric String Quartet © George Garnier

Doric String Quartet; Sir Thomas Allen baritone

Saturday 26 May 2018 7:30PM

Haydn

Quatuor Mosaïques © Wolfgang Krautzer

Quatuor Mosaïques

Wednesday 30 May 2018 7:30PM

Haydn and Mozart

Quatuor Mosaïques © Wolfgang Krautzer

Quatuor Mosaïques

Thursday 31 May 2018 7:30PM

Haydn and Wölfl

Heath Quartet © Simon Way

Heath Quartet; Mary Bevan soprano

Saturday 16 June 2018 7:30PM

Haydn, Jörg Widmann and Tchaikovsky

Carducci String Quartet © Tom Barnes

Carducci String Quartet

Thursday 12 July 2018 7:30PM

Haydn and Bartók

Bennewitz Quartet © Kamil Ghais

Bennewitz Quartet

Friday 13 July 2018 7:00PM

Haydn

Castalian String Quartet © Katya Kraynova

Castalian String Quartet

Wednesday 25 July 2018 7:30PM

Haydn