Saturday 4 January 2020 7:30PM

Allan Clayton tenor; Timothy Ridout viola; Sean Shibe guitar; James Baillieu piano

Dowland and Britten


  • Allan Clayton tenor
  • Timothy Ridout viola
  • Sean Shibe guitar
  • James Baillieu piano

The relationship between Britten and a much earlier English song composer is highlighted in a programme that contains two instrumental works specifically based on Dowland originals.

  • The Britten Series is made possible with support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • Preludium
        • Come again, sweet love doth now invite
        • Away with these self-loving lads
        • Sleep, wayward thoughts
        • Come, heavy sleep
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • Gloriana Op. 53
        • The Second Lute Song of the Earl of Essex
        • Songs from the Chinese Op. 58
        • Lachrymae: Reflections on a Song of John Dowland Op. 48
  • Interval
  • Benjamin Britten
        • Nocturnal after John Dowland Op. 70
      • This Way to the Tomb
        • Evening
        • Morning
        • Night
        • Winter Words Op. 52
  • Encore
  • Benjamin Britten
        • I wonder as I wander

We also recommend