Rachel Podger: Bach

This event was streamed live from Wigmore Hall on Sunday 24 November 2019

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

  • Sonata No. 1 in G minor for solo violin BWV1001
  • Partita No. 1 in B minor for solo violin BWV1002

These two works date from the period of Bach’s life spent in Cöthen, in the employ of the court of Prince Leopold. The sonata ranges from the stately solemnity of the opening Adagio through a vigorous Fugue and a graceful Siciliana to a moto-perpetuo-like finale. In the freer form of the Partita, each of the main movements – Allemanda, Correnta, Sarabande, and Tempo di Borea (or Bourrée) – is followed by a Double (or variation).

Find out more about our Sunday Morning Sponsors

More information and repertoire on the concert page.

Wigmore Hall's Audience Fund

Help us fully fund our programme of over 1,000 concerts and events every year by making an Audience Fund gift today

Video Library

Explore our free archive of concerts live streamed from Wigmore Hall.