Mahan Esfahani discusses his Bach Series

Ahead of his concert at Wigmore Hall on 1 October, Mahan Esfahani discusses his Bach Series with us.

Since making his London debut in 2009, Mahan Esfahani has made giant strides to bring the harpsichord to the forefront of concert life. His Series explores Bach’s works for harpsichord, which opened with the Goldberg Variations, a masterpiece of great virtuosity, beauty and vast inventive range written for a two-manual harpsichord in 1741. The second volume of Bach’s Keyboard Exercises consist of a solo concerto modelled on Italian examples and an overture emulating suites by his French contemporaries. Preceding these is the first of the four solo keyboard ‘duets’ from volume II.

You may also be interested in

Mahan Esfahani   © Bernhard Musil

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Wednesday 18 March 2020 7:30PM


Mahan Esfahani   © Kaja Smith

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Thursday 11 June 2020 7:30PM


Spring 2020 Wigmore Series

Booking is now open for Wigmore Series concerts and Learning events for January - March 2020.

Summer 2020 Wigmore Series

Priority booking is now open for concerts and Learning events up to July 2020.