The 2018 Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition

2018 StringComp logo

Preliminary Notice

Dates: The Competition itself will take place between Tuesday 10 – Sunday 15 April 2018 inclusive. Selected quartets will be expected to arrive in London no later than Sunday 8 April 2018 and leave on Monday 16 April 2018.

Venues: The Preliminary Rounds will be held at the Royal Academy of Music, the Semi-Finals and Final at Wigmore Hall. Quartets not based in the UK will also be asked to perform once outside the Competition timetable at lunchtime concerts in London as part of the events surrounding the Competition.

Rules and Repertoire: The full rules and requirements for entry for the Competition will be announced by the beginning of May 2017. We can confirm that the compulsory piece will be Thomas Adès' The Four Quarters.

Applications: The closing date for applications is Friday 13 October 2017.


The Members of the International Jury will be:

  • John Gilhooly OBE, Hon FRAM, HonFGS, HonRCM, HonFRIAM Chairman
    Director, Wigmore Hall
  • Jonathan Brown
    viola, Casals Quartet
  • András Fejér
    cello, Takács Quartet
  • Nobuko Imai
    viola, Michelangelo Quartet
  • Bjørg Lewis
    cello, Vertavo Quartet
  • Heime Müller
    violin, ex-Artemis Quartet
  • Karoly Schranz
    violin, Takács Quartet

Members of the Invitation Jury will be announced in due course.

Contact: Specific enquiries should be directed by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to the General Manager, Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition