Wednesday 8 September 2021 7:30PM

12 Ensemble; Mary Bevan soprano

Britten, Kate Whitley and Schubert
Live stream starts at 8:00PM


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Autumn 2021 Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • 12 Ensemble
  • Mary Bevan soprano

A group that plays without a conductor, the exciting string ensemble has, over the past year, become part of Wigmore audiences’ listening experience through live-streamed or open-air events. Here one of the UK’s finest sopranos joins them for classic Britten. The 12 Ensemble also offers a work written for them by a rising star composer, and their own arrangement of Schubert’s death-haunted quartet.

  • Kate Whitley (b.1990)
      • Autumn Songs
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • Les Illuminations Op. 18
  • Interval
  • Schubert (1797-1828)
      • String Quartet in D minor D810 'Death and the Maiden'
        • (arranged by 12 Ensemble)

We also recommend