Thursday 9 December 2021 1:00PM

Ruisi Quartet

Haydn, Locke and Oliver Leith


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Ruisi Quartet
  • Alessandro Ruisi violin
  • Oliver Cave violin
  • Luba Tunnicliffe viola
  • Max Ruisi cello

Founded in 2013 by two Sicilian brothers and two British musicians, the quartet has been encouraged by various organizations and has received several awards, enabling it to build a reputation for celebrating new music alongside older, more traditional repertoire. Two new works in the programme from Oliver Leith, recipient of a Royal Philharmonic Society award (2014), a British Composer award (2016) and an Ivor Novello award (2020).

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Matthew Locke (c.1621-1677)
      • Fantasia in F
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in D minor Op. 9 No. 4
  • Oliver Leith (b.1990)
      • A Different Fantasy (after Locke)
      • The Big House
        • (world première)

We also recommend