Tuesday 8 February 2022 7:30PM

Tenebrae; Olivia Jageurs harp

Sounds of the Solstice - Tenebrae 20th Anniversary


Change of Programme
The programme for the above concert has changed slightly and will now be as follows:

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Tenebrae
  • Olivia Jageurs harp

The group celebrates its two decades with a programme focused on the winter and summer solstices, and thus moving from darkness to light. Winter at its coldest is represented by the pieces by Joanna Marsh, Maxwell Davies and Poulenc, while a leading harpist joins the choir for the Holst settings that hail the coming of spring. The programme ends with John Rutter’s hymn of thanks.

  • Richard Rodney Bennett (1936-2012)
      • 4 Devotions
        • The seasons of his mercies
  • Bob Chilcott (b.1955)
      • Before the ice (O magnum mysterium)
  • Joanna Marsh (b.1970)
      • In Winter's House
        • [1]
  • Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)
      • O Magnum Mysterium Op. 13a
  • Jeffrey Mumford (b.1955)
      • Caprice (Homage to Poulenc)
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
      • Un soir de neige
  • Interval
  • Ēriks Ešenvalds (b.1977)
      • Stars
  • Gustav Holst (1874-1934)
      • The Planets Op. 32
        • Venus, the Bringer of Peace (arranged by Olivia Jageurs for solo harp)
      • Choral Hymns from the Rig Veda Op. 26
        • Hymn to the Dawn
        • Hymn to the Waters
        • Hymn to Vena
  • Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
      • O wild west wind Op. 53 No. 3
  • Healey Willan (1880-1968)
      • Rise up, my love
  • James MacMillan (b.1959)
      • The Strathclyde Motets
        • O Radiant Dawn
  • Jonathan Harvey (1939-2012)
      • Song of June
  • John Rutter (b.1945)
      • Hymn to the Creator of Light
  1. *Commissioned by Tenebrae (2019), supported by the RVW Trust

We also recommend