Saturday 12 December 2020 5:00PM

Admission: One Shilling


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Priority Bookings made for our 2020/21 Season Autumn concerts are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Dame Patricia Routledge as Dame Myra Hess
  • Piers Lane piano

A celebration of Myra Hess and her National Gallery lunchtime concerts in World War II

Admission: One Shilling, devised by Dame Myra’s composer great-nephew Nigel Hess, tells the story in words, music and images of the series of morale-boosting lunchtime concerts that Dame Myra organised at the National Gallery during the Second World War. It draws on press interviews she gave and comments she made during BBC broadcasts. Dame Myra Hess is represented by the much-loved Dame Partricia Routledge. The pianist Piers Lane performs music Dame Myra Hess played in these concerts by Schubert, Brahms, Schumann, Chopin, Beethoven and Bach, including her celebrated transcription of ‘Jesu, joy of man’s desiring’.