Wednesday 17 June 2020 1:00PM

Ailish Tynan soprano; Iain Burnside piano

Live on BBC Radio 3 and in HD video on this website


This concert forms part of the Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 Special Broadcast series. It will be available to listen to live on BBC Radio 3 and also to watch live on Wigmore Hall's website.
The concert will be approximately one hour in duration.


  • Ailish Tynan soprano
  • Iain Burnside piano

Watch here until 17 July

BBC Sounds

Irish operatic soprano Ailish Tynan and her regular pianist partner Iain Burnside present a characteristically wide-ranging programme, including Herbert Hughes arrangements of Irish songs and Grieg’s stormy Six Songs. Their finale is a song that has recently become popular as an anthem to staff of the NHS working on the front line against the Coronavirus pandemic.

  • Wigmore Hall's live stream of this concert is supported by Hamish Parker
  • Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
        • 6 songs Op. 48
  • Hugo Wolf (1860-1903)
      • Goethe Lieder
        • Blumengruss
        • Ganymed
        • Gleich und gleich
        • So lasst mich scheinen
  • Trad/Irish
        • The leprechaun (arr. Herbert Hughes)
        • I know where I'm goin' (arr. Herbert Hughes)
        • Marry me now (arr. Herbert Hughes)
        • The Gartan Mother's Lullaby (arr. Herbert Hughes)
  • Charles Edward Ives (1874-1954)
        • Memories: a. Very Pleasant, b. Rather Sad
  • Libby Larsen (b.1950)
        • Pregnant
  • Charles Edward Ives
        • Songs my mother taught me
  • Harold Arlen (1905-1986)
      • The Wizard of Oz
        • Over the Rainbow (arr. Malcolm Edmonstone)
  • Encore
  • Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924)
      • La bohème
        • Sì, mi chiamano Mimì

We also recommend