Wednesday 25 September 2019 7:30PM

Ailish Tynan soprano; Raphael Wallfisch cello; John York piano

Clarke, Herbert, Boulanger and Bloch

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information
Supported by Classic FM.

This concert is part of CAVATINA U25s, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “CAVATINA U25s” to book.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Ailish Tynan soprano
  • Raphael Wallfisch cello
  • John York piano

Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979), the English-American violist and composer, is the focus of this programme in which three leading artists champion her output alongside those of her younger contemporaries Lili Boulanger and Muriel Herbert.

Wigmore Hall Podcasts

Musician, writer and presenter Katy Hamilton and the Hall’s Archivist Emily Woolf provide a fascinating overview of women composers at Wigmore Hall, tracing the story of their works in performance here throughout the 20th century and up to the present day.

  • Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979)
        • Rhapsody for cello and piano
        • A Dream
        • Greeting
        • Infant Joy
        • Shy One
      • 3 Irish Country Songs
        • I know where I'm goin'
        • As I was goin' to Ballynure
  • Interval
  • Muriel Herbert (1897-1984)
        • 7 Children's Songs
        • The Lake Isle of Innisfree
        • I think on thee in the night
        • Jour des Morts
  • Lili Boulanger (1893-1918)
        • Attente
        • Reflets
  • Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)
        • Suite for viola and piano (trans. Gabor Rejto/Adolph Baller for cello and piano)

We also recommend