Wednesday 13 October 2021 7:30PM

Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin; Xenia Löffler oboe; Georg Kallweit violin, leader

Bach, CPE Bach and Goldberg
Live stream starts at 8:00PM


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Autumn 2021 Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
  • Xenia Löffler oboe
  • Georg Kallweit violin, leader

Together with one of its concertmasters and principal oboist Xenia Löffler, Akamus offers music by Johann Sebastian Bach, plus a work by one of his most talented sons. Carl Philipp Emanuel’s Symphony in C was the third of a set of six written in 1773 for connoisseur Gottfried von Swieten; hearing a rehearsal of some of these works, Bach’s contemporary J. F. Reichardt wrote of their ‘original and bold flow of ideas’ and the ‘great diversity and novelty in their forms and surprise effects’.

  • in partnership with and supported by the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in London
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)
      • Symphony in C Wq. 182 No. 3
  • Johann Gottlieb Goldberg (1727-1756)
      • Trio Sonata in C BWV1037
        • (attributed to Johann Sebastian Bach)
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Art of Fugue BWV1080
        • Principal subject
      • Concerto in G minor for oboe BWV1056R
  • Interval
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Art of Fugue BWV1080
        • Contrapunctus 9
      • Concerto in E for violin, strings and continuo BWV1042
      • Art of Fugue BWV1080
        • Contrapunctus 13b
      • Double Concerto for oboe, violin and strings in C minor BWV1060R
  • Encore
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Himmelskönig, sei willkommen BWV182
        • Sonata

We also recommend