Tuesday 15 March 2022 7:30PM

Alban Gerhardt cello; Steven Osborne piano

Brahms, Britten, Dutilleux and Shostakovich


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Alban Gerhardt cello
  • Steven Osborne piano

Regular duo partners come together for four major works – three of them from the 20th Century. ‘The calm authority and probing insight make him one of the finest cellists around,’ wrote The Guardian of Alban Gerhardt, describing his playing as ‘expressive, unshowy and infinitely classy.’ Thus far his collaboration with Steven Osborne has resulted in discs of music by Chopin, Alkan, Shostakovich and Schnittke.

This recital marks the 25th anniversary of Alban’s first appearance at Wigmore Hall.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • Cello Sonata in C Op. 65
  • Interval
  • Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013)
      • 3 Strophes sur le nom de Sacher
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor Op. 38

We also recommend