Monday 23 July 2018 7:30PM

Alban Gerhardt cello; Vikingur Olafsson piano

Bach, Hillborg, Debussy, Beethoven and Stravinsky


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 administration fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Alban Gerhardt cello
  • Vikingur Olafsson piano

German cellist Alban Gerhardt, described by Tagesspiegel as ‘a magician of cantabile playing and a master of virtuosic panache’, turns his charismatic artistry to a strikingly rich programme, including Debussy’s hauntingly beautiful Cello Sonata and Anders Hillborg’s new Duo.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Viola da gamba Sonata No. 3 in G minor BWV1029
  • Anders Hillborg (b.1954)
        • Duo for cello and piano (UK première)
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Cello Sonata
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Cello Sonata in A major Op. 69
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • Suite italienne for cello and piano

Related Series

We also recommend