Monday 5 November 2018 1:00PM

Aleksey Semenenko violin; Inna Firsova piano

Grieg, Ysaÿe, Debussy, Tchaikovsky and Paganini


  • Aleksey Semenenko violin
  • Inna Firsova piano

Belgian violinist Eugène Ysaÿe’s solo sonatas are among the summits of the repertoire, the third both rhapsodic and gripping. The Ukrainian violinist, who is a BBC New Generation Artist, follows with three lighter pieces, including the ‘even slower’ waltz by Ysaÿe’s friend and adherent Debussy.

  • Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
        • Violin Sonata No. 3 in C minor Op. 45
  • Eugène Ysaÿe (1858-1931)
        • Violin Sonata in D minor Op. 27 No. 3 'George Enescu'
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • La plus que lente
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
        • Valse-scherzo Op. 34
  • Nicolò Paganini (1782-1840)
        • La Campanella

We also recommend