Monday 4 April 2022 1:00PM

Alexander Gadjiev piano

Prokofiev and Schumann


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Summer 2022 Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Alexander Gadjiev piano is a member of Radio 3's New Generation Artists scheme

Already the winner of the Hamamatsu, Monte Carlo and Sydney Piano Competitions, and more recently joint second prizewinner at the 2021 International Chopin Competition in Warsaw, the Italian-Slovenian pianist also received the Krystian Zimerman Prize on the latter occasion for the best performance of a sonata. Two contrasting pianistic challenges form his programme.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Fantasie in C Op. 17
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
      • Piano Sonata No. 7 in B flat Op. 83
  • Encore
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
      • Prelude in E minor Op. 28 No. 4
      • Etude in F Op. 10 No. 8

We also recommend