Thursday 20 September 2018 7:30PM

Alexander Melnikov piano; Cuarteto Casals

Haydn, Prokofiev and Brahms

Booking information

This concert is part of Chamber Zone, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “Chamber Zone” to book


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Alexander Melnikov piano
  • Cuarteto Casals

The Russian pianist offers Prokofiev’s wispy but characterful collection of 20 miniature ‘fleeting visions’, written between 1915 and 1917, before joining Cuarteto Casals in Brahms’s grandly impassioned piano quintet, a cornerstone of the Romantic chamber repertory.

  • Supported by the Season Patrons who have made a major contribution to the 2018/19 Wigmore Series
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in F minor Op. 20 No. 5
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • Visions fugitives Op. 22
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Piano Quintet in F minor Op. 34

We also recommend