Sunday 31 March 2019 7:30PM

Alexander Melnikov piano; Marcel Ponseele oboe; Lorenzo Coppola clarinet; Javier Zafra bassoon; Teunis van der Zwart horn

Mozart and Beethoven

Booking information

This concert is part of Chamber Zone, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “Chamber Zone” to book.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Alexander Melnikov piano
  • Marcel Ponseele oboe
  • Lorenzo Coppola clarinet
  • Javier Zafra bassoon
  • Teunis van der Zwart horn

Melnikov continues his residency with a concert performed on period instruments. Beethoven’s Quintet for piano and winds (1796) is very much a follow-up to Mozart’s earlier masterpiece for the medium (1784), even sharing its key of E flat. Its immediate successor among the composer’s published works is the delightful Horn Sonata (1800).

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Adagio in B minor K540
        • Quintet in E flat for piano and winds K452
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Horn Sonata in F Op. 17
        • Quintet in E flat for piano and winds Op. 16

We also recommend