Monday 25 October 2021 1:00PM

Alexandre Tharaud piano

Debussy and Schubert


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Alexandre Tharaud piano

Two of the wide-ranging pianist’s transcriptions form part of his programme. Of the Debussy, he has written, ‘It’s a slow, sweeping piece for which I have added some depth to the piano texture, to maintain the tension. The centre of the movement is a tremendous moment that somehow has to be conveyed with two hands, which calls for an element of virtuosity’. The Schubert Impromptus are heard in their original form, Rosamunde as transcribed by Tharaud.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • 4 Impromptus D899
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
      • Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
        • (transcribed by Alexandre Tharaud)
  • Franz Schubert
      • Movements from Rosamunde D797
        • (transcribed by Alexandre Tharaud)

We also recommend