Tuesday 19 January 2021 7:30PM

Alina Ibragimova violin; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Franck, Mendelssohn and Prokofiev


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Alina Ibragimova violin
  • Cédric Tiberghien piano

The regular duo joins forces once again for a programme including Mendelssohn’s violin sonata which was lost until it was revived in the 1950s by Yehudi Menuhin. Prokofiev originally wrote the 5 Melodies as vocalises for the Ukrainian soprano Nina Koshetz in 1920 but recomposed them in 1925 as miniatures for violin and piano. The evening ends with Franck’s buoyant Sonata in A, written in 1886 as a wedding present for the virtuoso violinist Eugène Ysaÿe.

  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • Violin Sonata in F (1838)
  • Prokofiev (1891-1953)
      • 5 Melodies Op. 35bis
  • César Franck (1822-1890)
      • Sonata in A for violin and piano
  • Encore
  • Lili Boulanger (1893-1918)
      • 2 Pieces for Violin and Piano
        • I. Nocturne

We also recommend