Tuesday 7 March 2017 7:30PM

Alisa Weilerstein cello; Inon Barnatan piano

Beethoven, Barber, Britten and Rachmaninov


  • Alisa Weilerstein cello
  • Inon Barnatan piano

Technical perfection offers Alisa Weilerstein the means to reach her ultimate goal of free-flowing, unfettered expression. The American cellist, born into a family of professional musicians in 1982, continues to develop one of today’s most compelling duo partnerships with Inon Barnatan, a kindred spirit blessed with ceaseless curiosity and passionate commitment as a music maker.

Their recital programme opens with Beethoven’s Op. 102 No. 1, a work of great contrapuntal ingenuity, and includes two outstanding twentieth-century cello sonatas.

  • Supported by the Sir Jack Lyons Charitable Trust
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Cello Sonata in C major Op. 102 No. 1
  • Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
        • Cello Sonata Op. 6
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
        • Cello Sonata in D major Op. 102 No. 2
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Cello Sonata in C major Op. 65
  • Encore
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
      • Cello Sonata in G minor Op. 19
        • III. Andante

We also recommend