Saturday 4 November 2017 7:30PM

Alisa Weilerstein cello; Inon Barnatan piano

Brahms, Stravinsky and Steven Mackey


  • Alisa Weilerstein cello
  • Inon Barnatan piano

Steven Mackey’s art embraces his long experience as a rock guitarist and passion for creative spontaneity and improvisation.

Through Your Fingers takes its inspiration from the dynamic intensity of Alisa Weilerstein’s playing and the energy she generates in recital with Inon Barnatan. The work’s UK première is framed by early and late Brahms, and the sparkling Suite italienne from Stravinsky’s Pulcinella.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor Op. 38
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • Suite italienne for cello and piano
  • Interval
  • Steven Mackey (b.1956)
        • Through Your Fingers (UK première) [1]
  • Johannes Brahms
        • Cello Sonata No. 2 in F major Op. 99
  • Encore
  • Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)
      • 7 canciones populares españolas
        • El paño moruno (arr. for cello)
        • Jota (arr. for cello)
  1. Co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend