Monday 28 October 2019 7:30PM

Alisa Weilerstein cello; Inon Barnatan piano

Brahms and Shostakovich


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Alisa Weilerstein cello
  • Inon Barnatan piano

Two musicians devoted to the chamber repertoire come together for a programme focussing on two contrasting composers, including works originally for voice, violin or viola heard here in transcriptions for cello – the songs arranged by the performers themselves.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Cello Sonata Op. 78 (transcription of Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Op. 78)
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms
        • Songs (arr. Alisa Weilerstein/Inon Barnatan)
  • Dmitry Shostakovich
        • Viola Sonata Op. 147 (arr. Daniil Shafran for cello and piano)

Related Series

We also recommend