Monday 23 November 2020 7:30PM

Allan Clayton tenor; James Baillieu piano

Britten and Schumann


Watch this concert in HD video until 24 December 2020: Watch

Download PDF song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Allan Clayton tenor
  • James Baillieu piano

The duo ends their programme with a song cycle by Britten composed in 1969, which sets twelve texts by the Scottish poet William Soutar and was written to mark the 700th National Galleries of Scotland Concert.

  • In memory of Linda Burgess <p>We are very grateful to those of you who have chosen to support Wigmore Hall with a gift in your Will. All gifts matter. Please contact us if this is something you would like to do, we would love to hear from you. <a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a></p>
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • 6 Hölderlin-Fragmente Op. 61
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Liederkreis Op. 39
  • Benjamin Britten
      • Who are these Children? Op. 84