Saturday 1 February 2020 7:30PM

Allan Clayton tenor; Lawrence Power viola; Elias String Quartet; Christian Ihle Hadland piano

Vaughan Williams, Britten, Strauss, Mendelssohn and Ceapaich


Change of Programme
We are sorry to announce that owing to illness, Martin Fröst (clarinet) is no longer able to perform in the above concert. There will be no replacement performer for this concert and the programme has therefore changed and will now be as follows:


  • Allan Clayton tenor
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Elias String Quartet
  • Christian Ihle Hadland piano

A further group of former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artists explores a varied selection of chamber works from three centuries, including Vaughan Williams’ powerful AE Housman settings, Britten’s final quartet with its references to his last opera Death in Venice, and a Mozart trio curiously named after 'a place where skittles are played'.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
        • On Wenlock Edge
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • String Quartet No. 3 Op. 94
  • Interval
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
      • Capriccio Op. 85
        • Sextet
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Quintet No. 2 in B flat Op. 87
  • Encore
  • Sileas na Ceapaich (c.1660-1729)
        • Tha mi am chadal (arr. Donald Grant)

Related Series