Monday 28 November 2022 1:00PM

Andrei Ioniţă cello; Naoko Sonoda piano

Beethoven, Britten and Webern


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Andrei Ioniţă cello
  • Naoko Sonoda piano

The Romanian cellist took prizes at several international competitions (including first prizes at the 2009 David Popper International Cello Competition and at the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition) and has also been a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist and artist-in-residence at the Symphoniker, Hamburg. Following his performance of Haydn’s C major Cello Concerto, The Times described him as ‘one of the most exciting cellists to have emerged for a decade’.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Cello Sonata in C Op. 102 No. 1
  • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
      • 3 little pieces Op. 11
      • 2 Pieces
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • Cello Sonata in C Op. 65

We also recommend