Wednesday 18 October 2017 7:30PM

Angela Hewitt piano

JS Bach

Additional notes

There is a 3-part study course linked to this evening's concert which starts on Tuesday 10 October


  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Angela Hewitt piano

Bach published a keyboard partita every year between 1726 and 1731, ‘offered to music lovers … to refresh their spirits’. He stamped each piece with his matchless contrapuntal mastery and feeling for dance rhythms.

Angela Hewitt, whose recording of the Partitas was praised by Gramophone for ‘effortlessly eclipsing all competition’, resumes her Bach Odyssey with four of these mighty masterworks.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Partita No.3 in A minor BWV827
        • Partita No.5 in G major BWV829
  • Interval
        • Partie in A major BWV832
        • Partita No.6 in E minor BWV830
  • Encore
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • The Well-tempered Clavier Book II, Prelude and Fugue No. 9 in E major BWV878
        • II. Fugue

We also recommend