Friday 3 May 2019 10:00PM

Anne Sofie von Otter mezzo-soprano; Bengt Forsberg piano

Purcell, Britten, Grainger and Shostakovich

Additional notes

Please note the starting time of this concert is 10.00pm


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Priority Bookings made for the Summer booking period of our 2018/19 Season are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Anne Sofie von Otter mezzo-soprano
  • Bengt Forsberg piano

The great mezzo returns for a late-night event with her regular pianist Bengt Forsberg, their main work Shostakovich’s powerful settings of a poet who had lived outside Russia for many years before returning in 1939, eventually committing suicide in 1941, alongside an admiring realisation by Thomas Adès of a great predecessor’s work.

  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • By Beauteous Softness (arr. Thomas Adès)
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Voici le Printemps
        • La belle est au jardin d'amour
        • Fileuse
  • Percy Grainger (1882-1961)
        • Peace and Saxon Twiplay
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • 6 Verses of Marina Tsvetayeva Op. 143
  • Percy Grainger
        • Piano solos
  • Benjamin Britten
        • The Plough Boy
        • The Foggy, Foggy Dew
        • At the mid hour of night
        • Come you not from Newcastle?
        • The Salley Gardens

Related Series

We also recommend