Friday 15 December 2017 7:30PM

Anthony Marwood violin; Isabelle van Keulen violin; Lawrence Power viola; Richard Lester cello; Heath Quartet

Mendelssohn and Enescu


Unfortunately our foyer lift is temporarily out of service, and we are working to resolve this as soon as possible. Access to the Auditorium remains unaffected. Please note that the bar and the toilets are downstairs, but ushers will be on hand should you require any assistance.


  • Anthony Marwood violin
  • Isabelle van Keulen violin
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Richard Lester cello
  • Heath Quartet
  • Oliver Heath violin
  • Sara Wolstenholme violin
  • Gary Pomeroy viola
  • Christopher Murray cello

Anthony Marwood, the Heath Quartet and three other wonderful chamber musicians open with Mendelssohn’s Octet, a miraculous product of his mid-teens.

Enescu’s fine String Octet also dates from the Romanian composer’s teenage years. ‘I wore myself out trying to make work a piece of music divided into four segments of such length that each of them was likely at any moment to break’, Enescu later recalled.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Octet in E flat major Op. 20
  • Interval
  • George Enescu (1881-1955)
        • String Octet in C major Op. 7

We also recommend