Sunday 19 December 2021 7:30PM

Antoine Tamestit viola; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Brahms and Shostakovich


Priority Booking for this concert will open to Friends of Wigmore Hall from Wednesday 22 September at 10:00AM. For a full breakdown of booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Monday 4 October.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Antoine Tamestit viola
  • Cédric Tiberghien piano

A substantial programme from the acclaimed violist and his pianist partner. The Shostakovich sonata was the composer’s final composition, while of their recording of the two Brahms sonatas BBC Music Magazine wrote, ‘The playing of these two fine artists offers high-class musical riches at every point, Tamestit finding a ceaseless range of tone-colours that always sounds natural rather than contrived.’

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Viola Sonata in F minor Op. 120 No. 1
      • Viola Sonata in E flat Op. 120 No. 2
  • Interval
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • Viola Sonata Op. 147

We also recommend