Thursday 10 March 2022 7:30PM

Apartment House

Darya Zvezdina, Gibbons, Helmut Oehring, Jürg Frey and Michael von Biel


This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Apartment House
  • Gordon Mackay violin
  • Mira Benjamin violin
  • Bridget Carey viola
  • Anton Lukoszevieze artistic director, cello
  • Colin Alexander cello
  • Alan Thomas guitar

Founded in 1995, the UK contemporary music ensemble has won an international following. Two UK premières are on the programme. Born in 1990, the Russian composer Darya Dvezdina describes her work as ‘a piece of music for string quartet that develops the idea that different types of musical material correspond to different parts of the abstract body that cannot be seen entirely’. Helmut Oehring was born in East Berlin in 1961; his Fourth String Quartet is part of his cycle House Burning Down.

  • Darya Zvezdina (b.1990)
      • The boy with a wolf eye is melting and there is nothing I can do
        • (UK première)
  • Helmut Oehring (b.1961)
      • Locked - In -
      • String Quartet No. 4 'House Burning Down II'
        • (UK première)
  • Michael von Biel (b.1937)
      • String Quartet with Accompaniment
  • Interval
  • Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625)
      • Versus MB4
        • (arranged by Apartment House for string quartet)
  • Jürg Frey (b.1953)
      • String Quartet No. 2

We also recommend