Saturday 18 June 2022 3:00PM

Apartment House



Change of Artist
Due to unforeseen circumstances, George Barton can no longer take part in this day. We are grateful to Chris Brannick for stepping in. The programmes remain the same.

Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Apartment House
  • Barry Webb trombone
  • Heather Roche bass clarinet
  • Nancy Ruffer bass flute
  • Anton Lukoszevieze cello
  • James Opstad double bass
  • Chris Brannick percussion
  • Simon Limbrick percussion

Written in 1983-5, Ryoanji is named after a garden in Kyoto which contains 15 rocks placed in sand. The original piece was for oboe, but Cage made various other versions, including the present one. The second work was created in 1990: its percussionists are required to use ‘any very resonant instruments’.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • John Cage (1912-1992)
      • Ryoanji for double bass, flute, trombone, cello and 2 percussion
      • Seven2 for bass clarinet, bass flute, bass trombone, cello, double bass and 2 percussion
        • (UK première)

We also recommend