Monday 3 April 2017 1:00PM

Apollon Musagète Quartet

Haydn and Arensky

Booking information

Concessions are available. More information


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Apollon Musagète Quartet

Anton Arensky, best known today for his D minor Piano Trio, dedicated the second of his two string quartets to the memory of Tchaikovsky and built one of its movements around his late friend’s ‘Legend’ from Children’s Songs.

The Apollon Musagète Quartet prefaces Arensky’s impassioned composition with Haydn’s evergreen ‘Lark’ Quartet.

  • BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in D major Op. 64 No. 5 'The Lark'
  • Anton Arensky (1861-1906)
        • String Quartet No. 2 in A minor Op. 35

We also recommend