Sunday 31 December 2017 7:00PM


Blow, Vivaldi, Handel and Purcell

Additional notes

Please note that the starting time is 7:00pm


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen director
  • Anna Lucia Richter soprano
  • Peter Whelan bassoon
  • Neil Brough trumpet
  • Paul Sharp trumpet

Arcangelo marks the countdown to the New Year with celebratory odes for St Cecilia’s Day – Henry Purcell’s Welcome to all the pleasures of 1683 and John Blow’s Begin the Song of 1684 – and two rousing Gloria settings.

Handel’s Gloria, probably written before its young composer’s departure from Germany to Italy in 1706, was believed to be lost until it was rediscovered in the library of the Royal Academy of Music in 2001. Vivaldi’s Concerto in C for two trumpets and pioneering Concerto in C for bassoon complete the festivities.

  • John Blow (1648-1708)
        • Ode: Begin the Song
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
        • Concerto in C major for bassoon, strings and continuo RV473
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
        • Gloria HWV deest
  • Interval
  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • Welcome to all the pleasures (Ode for St. Cecilia's Day) Z339
  • Antonio Vivaldi
        • Concerto in C major for two trumpets RV537
        • Gloria RV589

We also recommend