Friday 21 July 2017 7:00PM

Arcangelo; Jonathan Cohen director, harpsichord; Sophie Junker soprano

Clérambault, Couperin and de Montéclair

Additional notes

Please note the starting time is 7:00pm


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen director, harpsichord
  • Sophie Gent violin
  • Bojan Čičić violin
  • Jonathan Manson viola da gamba
  • Thomas Dunford theorbo
  • Georgia Browne flute
  • Sophie Junker soprano

Arcangelo’s final concert as Wigmore Hall’s Baroque Ensemble in Residence closes with a dramatic invocation of post-war peace by Michel Pignolet de Montéclair, the musician who introduced the double bass to the Paris Opéra orchestra.

Two sonatas from François Couperin’s ambitious portrait of four Catholic nations underline the inventive wealth of French music during the early 1700s.

  • Louis-Nicolas Clérambault (1676-1749)
        • Cantata: Léandre et Héro
  • François Couperin (c.1631-1712)
      • Les Nations
        • La Françoise
  • Interval
  • François Couperin
      • Les Nations
        • L'impériale
  • Michel Pignolet de Montéclair (1667-1737)
        • Le retour de la paix

We also recommend