Monday 11 October 2021 1:00PM

Aris Quartet

György Kurtág, Mendelssohn and Schulhoff


Watch this concert in HD video on demand: Watch

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Aris Quartet is a member of Radio 3's New Generation Artists scheme
  • Anna Katharina Wildermuth violin
  • Noémi Zipperling violin
  • Caspar Vinzens viola
  • Lukas Sieber cello

Described by the European culture TV channel ARTE as ‘one of the most sensational ensembles of the younger generation’, the group was a member of the BBC Radio 3 Young Generation Artists scheme from 2018 to 2021. Their programme includes Kurtág’s 1989 memorial to an earlier Hungarian composer who had risked his life to save Jews from the Nazis, and a 1923 work by the Czech-German-Jewish Erwin Schulhoff, who died in a prison in Bavaria in 1942.

  • Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942)
      • 5 Pieces for String Quartet
  • György Kurtág (b.1926)
      • Officium breve in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky Op. 28
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • String Quartet No. 3 in D Op. 44 No. 1

We also recommend