Sunday 21 May 2017 11:30AM

Armida Quartet

Mozart, Haydn and Mendelssohn

Booking information

Concessions are available. More information


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£15Concs£13 includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice.

Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Armida Quartet

Classical poise, contrapuntal logic and emotional turbulence coalesce in Haydn’s Op. 33 No. 6, the centrepiece of the Armida Quartet’s programme.

The Berlin-based ensemble, BBC New Generation Artists from 2014–16, begins with the striking contrasts of Mozart’s Adagio and Fugue, another masterwork of stylistic synthesis, and concludes with Mendelssohn’s final string quartet, an impassioned response to his sister’s death.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in D major Op. 33 No. 6
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Quartet No. 6 in F minor Op. 80

We also recommend