Wednesday 1 November 2017 7:30PM

Augustin Dumay violin; Louis Lortie piano

Brahms, Strauss and Franck


  • Augustin Dumay violin
  • Louis Lortie piano

Two outstanding artists join forces in a programme of masterworks for violin and piano, crowned by Franck’s radiant Sonata in A, written in 1886 as a wedding present for the virtuoso violinist Eugène Ysaÿe.

Augustin Dumay and Louis Lortie open with one Brahms’s most lyrical compositions before charting the romantic course of Strauss’s youthful Violin Sonata in E flat.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Violin Sonata No. 3 in D minor Op. 108
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Violin Sonata in E flat major Op. 18
  • Interval
  • César Franck (1822-1890)
        • Sonata in A major for violin and piano

We also recommend