Thursday 5 May 2022 7:30PM

Ayanna Witter-Johnson; Jess Gillam; Solem Quartet; Ligeti Quartet; Nitin Sawhney; Héloïse Werner; Andrea Baker; Marianne Schofield; Thea Sayer; Darren Bloom


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Confirmation of Programme

The programme of the above concert has been confirmed and will now be as follows:


  • Ayanna Witter-Johnson voice, cello, piano, composition
  • Jess Gillam saxophone
  • Solem Quartet
  • Amy Tress violin
  • William Newell violin
  • Stephen Upshaw viola
  • Stephanie Tress cello
  • Ligeti Quartet
  • Christopher Jones violin
  • Patrick Dawkins violin
  • Richard Jones viola
  • Valerie Welbanks cello
  • Nitin Sawhney piano
  • Héloïse Werner soprano
  • Andrea Baker mezzo-soprano
  • Marianne Schofield double bass
  • Thea Sayer double bass
  • Darren Bloom conductor

Ayanna Witter-Johnson is a multi-talented singer/songwriter, cellist, pianist and composer. She has a phenomenal mastery for seamlessly crossing the boundaries of classical, jazz, reggae, soul and R&B, to imprint her unique musical signature collaborating with artists including Anoushka Shankar, Nitin Sawhney, Andrea Bocelli and Jools Holland.

As a composer, Ayanna has been commissioned by the London Symphony Orchestra, Güerzenich Orchester, Ligeti Quartet and Kronos Quartet and for the first time this evening we will hear a unique programme of her classical works performed by a variety of friends and guest performers such as Jess Gillam, Solem Quartet, Ligeti Quartet, Nitin Sawhney, Andrea Baker, Thea Sayer, Héloïse Werner and Marianne Schofield. A British-born Jamaican, her music is a body of work that represents, celebrates and pays homage to her ancestral heritage, culture and identity.

  • Ayanna Witter-Johnson
      • Earth
      • Mento Mood
      • Ain't I A Woman?
      • Draw the Line
      • Brown Sounds
      • Lumina Rhythm
  • Interval
  • Nitin Sawhney/Ayanna Witter-Johnson
      • Movement Variation II
  • Ayanna Witter-Johnson
      • Island Suite
        • (world première) [1]
      • Wooden Woman
      • DreamCity
      • Equinox
  1. Commissioned by the Solem Quartet