Wednesday 14 November 2018 7:30PM

Baiba Skride violin; Lauma Skride piano; Antonina Suhanova piano; Trio Palladio

100th Anniversary of the Republic of Latvia


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Baiba Skride violin
  • Lauma Skride piano
  • Antonina Suhanova piano
  • Trio Palladio

Latvian musicians perform a work by the country’s leading contemporary composer inspired by his country’s landscapes and ending, as he describes, ‘with a vision of nature awakening’. Originally a choral piece, Plainscapes is heard here in Vasks’s arrangement for piano trio.

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert live and it will be available on the BBC iPlayer Radio for 30 days

  • Jazeps Vitols (1863-1948)
      • 10 Chants populaires Lettons Op. 29
        • Aija žužu laca berni
        • Avu, avu baltas kajas
        • Put, vejini
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
        • Prelude in C Op. 32 No. 1
        • Prelude in G Op. 32 No. 5
        • Prelude in A minor Op. 32 No. 8
        • Prelude in G sharp minor Op. 32 No. 12
        • Prelude in D flat Op. 32 No. 13
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • Violin Sonata in F (1838)
  • Interval
  • Pēteris Vasks (b.1946)
        • Plainscapes (arr. for piano trio)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Piano Trio in D Op. 70 No. 1 'Ghost'

We also recommend