Tuesday 18 April 2017 7:30PM

Basel Chamber Orchestra; Daniel Hope violin

Bach, Mendelssohn, Martin and Bartók


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Basel Chamber Orchestra
  • Daniel Hope violin

Contrasts and coincidences abound in the Basel Chamber Orchestra’s programme. Daniel Hope play-directs the ensemble in Mendelssohn’s youthful D minor Violin Concerto, written for the composer’s childhood friend, Ferdinand David, who also led the orchestra in his famous revival of Bach’s St Matthew Passion.

Bartók’s Divertimento, written for the BCO in 1939, is prefaced by Frank Martin’s lyrical Pavane in its version for strings.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Concerto in A minor for violin, strings and continuo BWV1041
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • Concerto in D minor for violin and strings
  • Interval
  • Frank Martin (1890-1974)
        • Pavane Couleur du Temps
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • Divertimento for Strings BB118

Related Series

We also recommend