Thursday 15 November 2018 7:30PM

Belcea Quartet

Mozart, Phibbs and Beethoven


  • Belcea Quartet

Following its world première in the US in October 2018, Joseph Phibbs’ third quartet comes to London, where its composer was born in 1974; two previous quartets for the medium by this former Birtwistle pupil have attracted exceptional praise.

  • This work was co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall, Wigmore Hall, and the Belcea Charitable Trust, with support from the Fidelio Charitable Trust and the Ralph Vaughan Williams Trust. The World Premiere was given by the Belcea Quartet in Zankel Hall, Carnegie Hall, New York City on October 18, 2018.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • String Quartet in B flat K589 'Prussian'
  • Joseph Phibbs (b.1974)
        • String Quartet No. 3 (European première)
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in B flat Op. 130 with Grosse Fuge Op. 133

Related Series