Friday 17 September 2021 7:30PM

Belcea Quartet

Mozart, Schubert and Shostakovich


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Belcea Quartet
  • Corina Belcea violin
  • Axel Schacher violin
  • Krzysztof Chorzelski viola
  • Antoine Lederlin cello

Founded in 1994, the world-renowned ensemble retains its unquestioned position in the top echelon. Its programme includes one of three works composed by Mozart in May/June 1790 and dedicated to the King of Prussia, plus Shostakovich’s penultimate work in the medium (1972-3); it quotes musically the name of its dedicatee, Sergey Shirinsky, cellist of the Beethoven String Quartet, which premièred almost the entirety of Shostakovich’s substantial series.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • String Quartet No. 23 in F K590 'Prussian'
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • String Quartet No. 14 in F sharp Op. 142
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • String Quartet in D minor D810 ‘Death and the Maiden’

We also recommend