Sunday 14 June 2020 11:30AM

Benjamin Frith piano; Andrew Brownell piano

Wagner, Saint-Saëns and Gershwin


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£16concs£14 includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice.

Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Benjamin Frith piano
  • Andrew Brownell piano

Two leading pianists – one British, one American – tackle rare music in two-piano format. Saint-Saëns’ 1874 variations take as their theme the trio of Beethoven’s Piano Sonata in E flat, Op. 31 No. 3, while Gershwin’s masterpiece is heard in his own two-piano version.

  • Richard Wagner (1813-1883)
      • Tannhäuser
        • Overture (arr. Léon Roques)
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
        • Variations on a Theme of Beethoven Op. 35
  • George Gershwin (1898-1937)
        • An American in Paris

We also recommend