Tuesday 27 November 2018 7:30PM

Boris Giltburg piano

Ravel, Beethoven, Shostakovich and Prokofiev


  • Boris Giltburg piano

The Russian-born Israeli pianist made his transcription of Shostakovich’s third string quartet following the success of his arrangement of the Eighth. In this programme he surrounds it with mighty sonatas by Beethoven and Prokofiev and Ravel’s charming 18th-century pastiche.

  • In Memory of Peter Flatter
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Le tombeau de Couperin
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor Op. 57 'Appassionata'
  • Interval
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 3 in F Op. 73 (arr. Boris Giltburg)
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • Piano Sonata No. 3 in A minor Op. 28

We also recommend