Monday 4 October 2021 7:30PM

Boris Giltburg piano

Prokofiev, Ravel and Schumann
Live stream starts at 8:00PM


Watch this concert in HD video until 2 January 2022: Watch

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Boris Giltburg piano

In his fascinating personal blog, the great Israeli pianist has written of the long chain of dance music written by Ravel, which, he says, permeates his works – notably waltzes, including the first piece on tonight’s programme, written in 1911. But in his perceptive and detailed literary musings he is particularly eloquent on Ravel’s dark tone-poem (1919-20). ‘The waltz and those who dance it are utterly defeated and destroyed’, reads his interpretation of the close of La Valse.

  • Prokofiev (1891-1953)
      • Piano Sonata No. 6 in A Op. 82
  • Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Valses nobles et sentimentales
  • Interval
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Carnaval Op. 9
  • Ravel
      • La valse
  • Encore
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Intermezzo in A Op. 118 No. 2
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
      • Prelude in G sharp minor Op. 32 No. 12

We also recommend