Thursday 30 January 2020 7:30PM

Borodin Quartet

Shostakovich, Beethoven and Borodin


  • Borodin Quartet

An historic ensemble, the Borodin Quartet was founded in 1945 in Moscow, where all its members – original, subsequent and current – have studied. The group’s close association with Shostakovich has given it particular authority in his works, and equally in the music of its namesake, Alexander Borodin.

  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 6 in G Op. 101
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in F Op. 18 No. 1
  • Interval
  • Aleksandr Porfir'yevich Borodin (c.1833-1887)
        • String Quartet No. 2 in D
  • Encore
  • Dmitry Shostakovich
      • Music from Girl Friends Op. 41a
        • Prelude

Related Series

We also recommend