Sunday 27 January 2019 11:30AM

Borodin Quartet; Michael Collins clarinet

Prokofiev and Mozart


  • Borodin Quartet
  • Michael Collins clarinet

Written during a period of evacuation in 1941, in his Second Quartet Prokofiev made use of folk material from the area of Kabardino-Balkaria, even imitating the sound of the kamancheh, a Caucasian stringed folk instrument, in the slow movement.

  • Coffee for the Sunday Morning Concert Series is generously provided by Café de Colombia
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • String Quartet No. 2 in F Op. 92
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Clarinet Quintet in A K581

We also recommend