Wednesday 20 April 2016 7:30PM

Anssi Karttunen; Nicolas Hodges

Brahms, Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Magnus Lindberg and Beethoven

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has changed from previously advertised and is now listed as below.


  • Anssi Karttunen cello
  • Nicolas Hodges piano

Anssi Karttunen and Nicolas Hodges range across more than two centuries of repertoire for cello and piano, embracing everything from the concentrated expression of Beethoven’s Op. 102 No. 2 to Sir Harrison Birtwistle’s Bogenstrich (‘Bow-stroke’) of 2006–09.

Their programme also contains the UK première of Magnus Lindberg’s Santa Fe Project.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor Op. 38
  • Sir Harrison Birtwistle (b.1934)
      • Bogenstrich
        • Lied ohne Worte
        • Wie eine Fuge
        • Variationen
  • Interval
  • Magnus Lindberg
        • Santa Fe Project (UK première)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Cello Sonata in D major Op. 102 No. 2
  • Encore
  • Aleksandr Skryabin (1872-1915)
        • Romance for horn and piano
  • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
        • 3 Little pieces Op. 11

We also recommend