Monday 15 November 2021 1:00PM

Brentano String Quartet

Beethoven and Mendelssohn


Watch this concert in HD video on demand: Watch

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Brentano String Quartet
  • Serena Canin violin
  • Mark Steinberg violin
  • Misha Amory viola
  • Nina Maria Lee cello

Founded at the Juilliard School in 1992, the ensemble takes its name from Antonie Brentano – one of the candidates for Beethoven’s still unidentified ‘immortal beloved’. The New York Times has described the Brentano as ‘something special. Their music-making is private, delicate and fresh, but by its very intimacy and importance it seizes attention.’

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • String Quartet No. 6 in F minor Op. 80
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • String Quartet No. 16 in F Op. 135
  • Encore
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in F minor Op. 20 No. 5
        • III. Adagio

We also recommend